Draw-Tite to Sponsor Car No.40 at Richmond

April 29, 2011 by · Comments Off on Draw-Tite to Sponsor Car No.40 at Richmond 

image006Draw-Tite will sponsor the No. 40 Chevrolet with driver Scott Wimmer in tonight’s BUBBA Burger 250 NASCAR Nationwide Series race at Richmond International Raceway in Richmond, Va.

The Richmond race coincides with the launch of Draw-Tite’s most recent website addition,

“We are pleased to be able to support the Key Motorsports team and look forward to a great race,” Tom Benson, Cequent Performance Products president, stated in a news release. Draw-Tite, part of Cequent Performance Products, has been a leader in the manufacture of quality towing systems since 1946.

The Key Motorsports Chevrolet posted a top-15 finish in the Nationwide Series visit to .750-mile Richmond oval last spring. Veteran NASCAR driver Scott Wimmer hopes to build on that momentum tonight.

“The Key Motorsports team is prepared for a good run in Richmond,” said Wimmer. “Gary (Showalter, Key Motorsports crew chief) and everyone at the shop have each put in an extra effort on our Richmond car; it’s a special race for our team. We want to welcome Draw-Tite and their new site, we are glad to have them on board with us and want to have a good result for them in the race on Friday.”

Showalter feels today’s race in Richmond will be a turning point for the independent team that has had its share of ups and downs this season.

Richmond provides a home field advantage for the Key Motorsports team. The original operation, formed two-decades ago by Virginia businessman Curtis Key, was an all-Virginia team based about an hour from the Richmond track.

“We are pleased to be representing the family of Draw-Tite ‘Tested Tough’ products and we appreciate the opportunity to be partnering with them at our home track,” said Key, who is from Chesapeake, Va. “Everyone on the team is pumped up for Richmond .We want to have a good race for Draw-Tite and our fans, friends and family who always support us when we race there.”

SPEED will broadcast the Nationwide Series race live from the Richmond International Raceway with coverage beginning at 7:30 p.m. EST.

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [Facebook] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

Blue Ox 100 Helps Kick Off NASCAR’s Season

April 25, 2011 by · Comments Off on Blue Ox 100 Helps Kick Off NASCAR’s Season 

BlueOx100-APRILNKNPSEBlue Ox, a leader in the recreational vehicle and towing industry, has signed on as the official race entitlement sponsor of the opening event of the Spring NASCAR Weekend at Richmond International Raceway in Virginia. The Blue Ox 100 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East runs on Thursday (April 28), kicking off the action-packed weekend, according to a news release.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series features separate schedules and championships for the East and West, and makes up the top step of the NASCAR Home Tracks ladder —a launching pad for developmental drivers and home for veterans of motorsports. In addition to producing NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr. and Kevin Harvick, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series has served as the starting point for some of the top up-and-coming talent now in NASCAR’s three national series, including Austin Dillon, Trevor Bayne and Ryan Truex.

For additional information on the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East, log on to – the ultimate online destination for fans of all of NASCAR’s developmental series.

Tickets for the Thursday Blue Ox 100 will be available for online purchase at or by calling (866) 455-7223. All seats are general admission and children 12 and under are admitted free with a ticketed adult.

The weekend continues on Friday with the BBA burger 250 NASCAR Nationwide Series race. Friday’s ticket includes Wawa Pole Qualifying and practice for the Sprint Cup Series, as well as NBC12 Pole Qualifying and practice for the Nationwide Series.

On Saturday night, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series returns to Richmond International Raceway as Crown Royal Presents The Matthew & Daniel Hansen 400. Hometown hero Denny Hamlin will square off with defending series champion Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon and the rest of the Sprint Cup Series.

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [Facebook] [Google] [StumbleUpon]